The CDC Just Added 7 New Countries to Its Highest Risk Category for Travel

Caroline Morse Teel

In disappointing news for travelers, the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) just moved seven popular countries to their highest risk category for travel. The CDC currently categorizes countries by four levels based on their COVID-19 infection rates. 

The worst warning level is “Level 4: COVID Level Very High”, for which the CDC advises, “Avoid travel to these destinations. If you must travel to these destinations, make sure you are fully vaccinated before travel.” 

The following countries were just moved to Level 4: 

• Aruba

• Eswatini (formerly Swaziland)

• France

• French Polynesia

• Iceland

• Israel

• Thailand

The CDC still recommends against any form of international travel until you are fully vaccinated. “Fully vaccinated travelers are less likely to get and spread COVID-19,” the agency warns. “However, international travel poses additional risk and even fully vaccinated travelers might be at increased risk for getting and possibly spreading some COVID-19 variants.”